Uni Tübingen

A Blog by Machine Learning Cluster
Science Stories
December 6, 2021 Theresa Authaler

Towards AI systems that can explain decisions

Read More
Latest Research
October 6, 2021 Philipp Berens, Dmitry Kobak

First comprehensive atlas of neuron types in the brain

Read More
Latest Research
September 7, 2021 Artur Speiser

Machine Learning Improves
Super-resolution Microscopy

Read More
Science Stories
December 6, 2021 Theresa Authaler

Towards AI systems that can explain decisions

Skepticism about the use of AI systems is widespread. Many say the systems are too opaque. Professor for Explainable Machine Learning Zeynep Akata wants to change that - and has made the user’s perspective the focal point of her research.
Latest Research
October 6, 2021 Philipp Berens, Dmitry Kobak

First comprehensive atlas of neuron types in the brain

With hundreds of scientists, we have explored the properties of different neuron types in mice, monkeys and humans using novel experimental techniques and machine learning methods for data analysis. The result is a unique overview of the motor cortex in the brain and its evolution.
Debate
July 19, 2021 Thomas Grote

Where Algorithms and People Are Allies

Who makes better medical diagnoses, an algorithm or a human? A philosopher specialized in technology, Thomas Grote, says viewing this as a rivalry isn’t productive. He argues in favor of focusing on the interplay of the two – and emphasizes the significance of philosophy.

Article Overview

Science Stories
December 6, 2021 Theresa Authaler

Towards AI systems that can explain decisions

Skepticism about the use of AI systems is widespread. Many say the systems are too opaque. Professor for Explainable Machine Learning Zeynep Akata wants to change that - and has made the user’s perspective the focal point of her research.
Read More
Latest Research
October 6, 2021 Philipp Berens, Dmitry Kobak

First comprehensive atlas of neuron types in the brain

With hundreds of scientists, we have explored the properties of different neuron types in mice, monkeys and humans using novel experimental techniques and machine learning methods for data analysis. The result is a unique overview of the motor cortex in the brain and its evolution.
Read More
Debate
July 19, 2021 Thomas Grote

Where Algorithms and People Are Allies

Who makes better medical diagnoses, an algorithm or a human? A philosopher specialized in technology, Thomas Grote, says viewing this as a rivalry isn’t productive. He argues in favor of focusing on the interplay of the two – and emphasizes the significance of philosophy.
Read More
Science Stories
July 19, 2021 Theresa Authaler

Responsibility Cannot Be Delegated to an Algorithm

Computer Science Professor Ulrike von Luxburg speaks in an interview about the opportunities and challenges of trimming machine learning systems to fairness. Prof. von Luxburg also explains why she is convinced that people, rather than machines should resolve certain questions.
Read More
Latest Research
July 18, 2021 Tobias Rentschler , Ulrike Werban , Sandra Teuber, Karsten Schmidt , Thomas Scholten

Using Machine Learning for 3D Soil Mapping

Spatial soil variability makes a farmer's daily business challenging as it leads to varying growth conditions for field crops. Machine learning can help to map soil properties so that farmers can adapt fertilizing and irrigation management in a time- and cost-efficient way.
Read More
Latest Research
September 7, 2021 Artur Speiser

Machine Learning Improves
Super-resolution Microscopy

Single-molecule localization microscopy is a powerful method to image cellular structures with nanometer resolution. We developed DECODE, a deep learning based analysis algorithm that makes this technique faster and more precise.
Read More
Latest Research
July 19, 2021 Michael Deistler, Jonathan Oesterle

Identifying Models in
Neuroscience with Machine Learning

Computer models are a great tool to analyze neuronal mechanisms in the brain, but tuning these models to match brain activity has long been a daunting task for scientists. We developed a new machine learning tool that automates this process and used it to develop a simulation environment for a retinal implant.
Read More
Science Stories
July 19, 2021 Nina Himmer

When Artificial Intelligence Predicts a Heart Attack

Algorithms are becoming better and better at analyzing medical images and recognizing diseases. Researchers Christian Baumgartner and Sergios Gatidis – one an expert on artificial intelligence (AI), the other a radiologist – expect that algorithms will fundamentally change doctors’ work.
Read More
Latest Research
July 18, 2021 Agustinus Kristiadi , Philipp Hennig

Painless Uncertainty for Deep Learning

The Bayesian formalism can add uncertainty to deep neural networks. But Bayesian deep learning has a reputation as cumbersome and expensive. No longer. Recent results show how to achieve calibrated uncertainty in deep networks efficiently, without affecting their predictive performance.
Read More

Our Partners

Uni Tübingen

A Blog by Machine Learning Cluster
Neueste Forschung
6. Oktober 2021 Philipp Berens, Dmitry Kobak

Erster umfassender Atlas der Neuronentypen im Gehirn

Mehr lesen
Science Storys
19. Juli 2021 Nina Himmer

Wenn künstliche Intelligenz den Herzinfarkt vorhersagt

Mehr lesen
Debatte
18. Juli 2021 Thomas Grote

Algorithmus und Mensch als Partner

Mehr lesen
Neueste Forschung
9. September 2021 Artur Speiser

Maschinelles Lernen verbessert superauflösende Mikroskopie

Die Einzelmolekül-Lokalisierungsmikroskopie ist eine leistungsstarke Methode, um zelluläre Strukturen mit Nanometerauflösung abzubilden. Wir haben DECODE entwickelt, einen auf Deep Learning basierenden Analysealgorithmus, der diese Technik schneller und noch präziser macht.
Science Storys
19. Juli 2021 Theresa Authaler

Verantwortung kann man nicht an einen Algorithmus delegieren

Die Informatik-Professorin Ulrike von Luxburg spricht im Interview über die Möglichkeiten und Schwierigkeiten, Systeme des Maschinellen Lernens auf Fairness zu trimmen – und warum sie davon überzeugt ist, dass über bestimmte Fragen Menschen und nicht Maschinen entscheiden sollten.
Debatte
18. Juli 2021 Thomas Grote

Algorithmus und Mensch als Partner

Wer stellt die bessere medizinische Diagnose, Algorithmus oder Mensch? Aus Sicht von Technikphilosoph Thomas Grote ist dieser Wettstreit nicht zielführend. Er plädiert dafür, den Blick auf das Zusammenspiel der beiden zu richten – und betont die Bedeutung der Philosophie.

Artikelübersicht

Neueste Forschung
9. September 2021 Artur Speiser

Maschinelles Lernen verbessert superauflösende Mikroskopie

Die Einzelmolekül-Lokalisierungsmikroskopie ist eine leistungsstarke Methode, um zelluläre Strukturen mit Nanometerauflösung abzubilden. Wir haben DECODE entwickelt, einen auf Deep Learning basierenden Analysealgorithmus, der diese Technik schneller und noch präziser macht.
Mehr lesen
Science Storys
19. Juli 2021 Theresa Authaler

Verantwortung kann man nicht an einen Algorithmus delegieren

Die Informatik-Professorin Ulrike von Luxburg spricht im Interview über die Möglichkeiten und Schwierigkeiten, Systeme des Maschinellen Lernens auf Fairness zu trimmen – und warum sie davon überzeugt ist, dass über bestimmte Fragen Menschen und nicht Maschinen entscheiden sollten.
Mehr lesen
Debatte
18. Juli 2021 Thomas Grote

Algorithmus und Mensch als Partner

Wer stellt die bessere medizinische Diagnose, Algorithmus oder Mensch? Aus Sicht von Technikphilosoph Thomas Grote ist dieser Wettstreit nicht zielführend. Er plädiert dafür, den Blick auf das Zusammenspiel der beiden zu richten – und betont die Bedeutung der Philosophie.
Mehr lesen
Neueste Forschung
18. Juli 2021 Tobias Rentschler , Ulrike Werban , Sandra Teuber, Karsten Schmidt , Thomas Scholten

So verbessert maschinelles Lernen die 3D-Bodenkartierung

Für Landwirtinnen und Landwirte ist es tagtäglich eine Herausforderung, dass sich Böden räumlich stark unterscheiden. Maschinelles Lernen kann die Kartierung von Bodeneigenschaften verbessern, sodass Landwirte das Düngen und Bewässern zeit- und kosteneffizient planen können.
Mehr lesen
Neueste Forschung
6. Oktober 2021 Philipp Berens, Dmitry Kobak

Erster umfassender Atlas der Neuronentypen im Gehirn

Mit hunderten Forschenden aus aller Welt haben wir die Eigenschaften verschiedener Neuronentypen von Mäusen, Affen und Menschen untersucht. Dabei haben wir neueste experimentelle Techniken und Methoden aus dem Maschinellen Lernen zur Datenanalyse verwendet. Das Ergebnis ist ein einzigartiger Überblick über den motorischen Kortex und dessen Entwicklung im Laufe der Evolution.
Mehr lesen
Neueste Forschung
19. Juli 2021 Michael Deistler, Jonathan Oesterle

Mit maschinellem Lernen Modelle in der Neurowissenschaft identifizieren

Computermodelle sind ein hervorragendes Werkzeug für die Analyse neuronaler Mechanismen. Doch die Modelle auf die Gehirnaktivität abzustimmen, ist eine große Herausforderung. Wir haben ein Werkzeug entwickelt, das diesen Prozess durch maschinelles Lernen automatisiert, und mit ihm eine Simulationsumgebung für ein Netzhautimplantat geschaffen.
Mehr lesen
Science Storys
19. Juli 2021 Nina Himmer

Wenn künstliche Intelligenz den Herzinfarkt vorhersagt

Algorithmen werden immer besser darin, medizinische Bilder zu analysieren und Krankheiten zu erkennen. Die Forscher Christian Baumgartner und Sergios Gatidis - der eine KI-Experte, der andere Radiologe – rechnen damit, dass sich dadurch die Arbeit von Ärztinnen und Ärzten fundamental verändern wird.
Mehr lesen
Neueste Forschung
18. Juli 2021 Agustinus Kristiadi , Philipp Hennig

Wie man neuronale Netze mit Unsicherheiten ausstattet

Mit dem Bayesschen Formalismus kann man tiefe neuronale Netze um Unsicherheiten ergänzen. Bayessches Deep Learning gilt allerdings als umständlich und teuer. Neue Ergebnisse zeigen jedoch, wie eine kalibrierte Unsicherheit in tiefen Netzen erreicht werden kann - effizient und ohne die Vorhersagekraft zu beeinträchtigen.
Mehr lesen

Unsere Partner